Community Foundation of Howard County Announces 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients

December 14, 2016 -- Two Howard County students have been named recipients of four-year, full-tuition scholarships as the Community Foundation of Howard County 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

Victoria Combs, daughter of David and Lois Combs, and Elizabeth Foesch, daughter of Mark and Jane Foesch, will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of their choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Victoria, a Northwestern High School student, is the president of National Honor Society and vice president of the Student Council. She is the president of the Cybertooth Robotics Team and a member of the Timmy Club. Victoria has been a member of the track and field team for four years and competes in discus and shot put events. She is a Sunday school teacher at her church and has participated on Relay for Life teams. As a 4-H Club member, Victoria does volunteer community service work, cares for her animals and assists with 4-H events. Victoria's awards include FIRST Dean's List District Finalist, Distinguished Young Women of Howard County Academic Scholarship, Outstanding Junior Scientist Finalist and Female Athlete with the Highest GPA. She was a delegate for Hoosier Girls State.

Victoria plans to attend Purdue University to study psychology.

Elizabeth, a Taylor High School student, has participated in marching, pep, jazz and concert band, and the Kokomo Youth Symphony. She is a member of the tennis team, and participates in the school's robotics program and academic superbowl. Elizabeth's volunteer activities include reading to children at Bona Vista, working at the library's service desk, helping with Historical Society programs and Key Club. Her awards include Department Awards for math, biology and English. She was selected as a delegate for Hoosier Girls State.

Elizabeth plans to attend Purdue University to study biomedical engineering.

For 19 years Lilly Endowment has funded the Community Scholars program. The Community Foundation of Howard County defined the criteria based on the endowment's goal to "raise the educational attainment in Indiana." The criteria used in the selection process include academic achievement, financial need, potential for success, preference for first-generation college attendees, school, community and work activities, and an interview. There were 82 Howard County students who applied for the scholarship.

"Indiana students are fortunate to have access to the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship," said Glenn Grundmann, chairman of the Community Foundation of Howard County Scholarship Committee. "A full tuition scholarship offers the opportunity for students to attend the Indiana school of their choice and eases the financial burden associated with higher education. The program also highlights the role of community foundations and how they help to produce a positive change in the communities they serve."

After the Community Foundation of Howard County Scholarship Committee selected the seven finalists, the names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for the selection of recipients. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The Community Foundation of Howard County recognized the accomplishments of the other five finalists with $1,000 scholarships. They include Jonathan Carter, from Eastern High School, son of Dennis and Lisa Carter; Jama Claxton, from Western High School, daughter of James and Stacy Claxton; Sierra Coon, from Western High School, daughter of Bradley Coon and the late Serena Coon; Camden Hochgesang, from Northwestern High School, son of Alvin and Debra Hochgesang; and Chaitanya Modi, from Kokomo High School, son of Nileshkumar and Komal Modi.

The Community Foundation of Howard County, Inc. was formed as a not-for-profit public charity in March 1991. The Foundation seeks to serve donors and make grants to benefit the citizens of Howard County. For more information about the Community Foundation, contact Hilda Burns at 765-454-7298 or The Web site contains information about making gifts to endowment funds, scholarships and grantmaking.

Back to Top

Sign up for our E-News!