Dec. 12, 2018 -- Two Howard County students have been named recipients of four-year, full-tuition scholarships as the Community Foundation of Howard County 2019 Lilly Endowment Inc. Community Scholars.

Ryan Keller, son of Zachary Keller and Elizabeth Wohlford, and Meredith Middleton, daughter of Michael and Monica Middleton, will receive full tuition to an accredited public or private nonprofit Indiana university or college of their choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Ryan Keller, a Eastern High School student, is captain of the Varsity Wrestling Team and a former member of the Football Team.  He has participated in the Academic Super Bowl and in Math/English Academic Team competitions.  Ryan is a member of the National Honor Society.  He has been a volunteer teacher’s aide and delivered food to the needy as a member of the Football Team.

Ryan plans to attend Purdue University and study pharmacy. 

Meredith, a Eastern High School student, is Student Government president.  As president, her responsibilities include fundraising, planning prom and homecoming week activities, and organizing the senior trip.  Meredith is secretary of the Eastern Choral Department and Show Choir, where she has participated in choir and drama performances.  She is a member of the National Honor Society and Spanish Club.  Her volunteer activities include helping with the Greentown Youth Soccer Camp, hurricane cleanup in Puerto Rico, serving meals at a spinal muscular atrophy fundraising event and church youth group activities.

Meredith plans to attend Indiana Wesleyan University and her course of study is undecided.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

The Community Foundation of Howard County’s criteria used in the selection process include academic achievement, financial need, potential for success, preference for first-generation college attendees, school, community and work activities, and an interview. There were 72 Howard County students who applied for the scholarship.  Lilly Endowment Inc. established the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program in 1998.

Each year it is inspiring to see the level of academic achievement attained by our Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship finalists,” said Glenn Grundmann, Chairman of the Community Foundation of Howard County Scholarship Committee.  “This scholarship gives the recipients the opportunity to attend the college or university of their choice.  Indiana is fortunate to have a program that recognizes the accomplishments of the recipients and one that promotes the role of foundations in improving the quality of life in their communities."

After the Community Foundation of Howard County Scholarship Committee selected the seven finalists, the names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for the selection of recipients.  ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The Community Foundation of Howard County recognized the accomplishments of the other five finalists with $1,500 scholarships. They are Audia Anders, Taylor High School; Grace Guerre, Northwestern High School; Jack Johnson, Eastern High School; Kristina Standish, Eastern High School; and Claire Wallace, Northwestern High School.

The Community Foundation of Howard County, Inc. was formed as a not-for-profit public charity in
March 1991. The Foundation seeks to serve donors and make grants to benefit the citizens of Howard County.  For more information about the Community Foundation, contact Greg Aaron at 765-454-7298 or The Web site contains information about making gifts to endowment funds, scholarships and grantmaking. 


Back to Top

Sign up for our E-News!